Skip to content

The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year

October 21, 2008

It’s the most wonderful time of the year!  No, I am absolutely not singing Christmas songs early (if you know me you already know how absurd that thought actually is!) and maybe we will all get lucky and the music people will forget that it’s Christmas time and we can continue with Christmas but just minus the really bad cheesy songs…but that’s just me.  Anyway.  I digress.  You may notice that I haven’t put a picture on this blog entry (at least not at the top).  I am just seeing if I can trick some of those girls that tune me out when I say football will get this far!  Ha.  Ok.  We are through week 8 of the college football year!  Woo hoo!  I’m not sure I am necessarily cheering for the BCS that made its 2008 debut, but still!  More polls!  We all love hearing someone else’s opinion and then disagreeing with it!  You know you do!  That’s the whole point isn’t it?  No?  Hmm…  Maybe I’m just weird.  Ok.  Onward.

This looks as if it could be one of those years that a 1 loss team makes it to the big game.  I’m not necessarily making a prediction that I’m willing to stake my paycheck on…well, I guess I can pretty much do that with any prediction considering I’m not getting a paycheck at the moment.  Anyway, there are several really good teams with 1 loss.  There are also still a few good teams without losses.  Good for them.  I hope they lose.  Especially Texas.  I hate that team.  USC made a great showing, but I have to agree with many of you in that they are in an incredibly awful conference and they lost to a not-so-hot team of Beavers.  OU, as much as I love them, has some serious special teams issues as well as a depleted defense and a kicker who needs to be inside 35 yards not to mention that I’m not sure they filled Stoops in on the fact that he can challenge calls.  But please don’t get me wrong, I still love Stoops, the Sooners are still my boys, and I will continue to root for them good or bad!  OSU is lighting it up still!  I talked to one Cowboy fan on his way to a game a few weeks ago and this fan who shall remain nameless (cough…Rick Teague…cough) was just waiting for the Poke Choke.  Well, I guess this week we will find out what they are really made of.  No more soft teams (And yes I know they played Missouri.  They don’t count as a good team.  They haven’t done ANYTHING and Chase Daniels will NOT win the Heisman…ever.)  Alabama still has a tough conference.  Good luck.  Penn State, well, their conference sucks too.  Ok.  Enough babbling, Brook (ha…get it?  Babbling Brook?  As in my name?  Just kidding.  Crappy joke.), on to the polls, including the BCS too.  

Don’t forget to let me know what you think!

BCS Top 10
1. Texas
2. Alabama
3. Penn State
4. Oklahoma
5. USC
6. Oklahoma State
7. Georgia
8. Texas Tech
9. Ohio State
10. Florida

AP Top 10
1. Texas
2. Alabama
3. Penn State
4. Oklahoma
5. Florida
6. USC
7. Oklahoma State
8. Texas Tech
9. Georgia
10. Ohio State

USA Today Top 10
1. Texas
2. Alabama
3. Penn State
4. USC
5. Oklahoma
6. Texas Tech
7. Florida
8. Oklahoma State
9. Georgia
10. Ohio State

Brook James Top 10
1. Texas (wow that makes me sick)
2. Alabama (can they stay winless?)
3. Penn State (can they stay worthy?)
4. Oklahoma (I love them and great offense but still got a lot to prove)
5. Oklahoma State (only team other than Texas in the Big 12 proving it belongs…Poke Choke soon?)
6. Florida (finally beat a good team)
7. Texas Tech (unbeaten but hasn’t played a soul)
8. LSU (lost to a good team but has played well)
9. USC (still haven’t beaten a good team…no Ohio State and Oregon don’t count and lost to terrible one)
10. Utah (because Georgia and Ohio State suck and don’t deserve to be in the top 10)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. cassie permalink
    October 21, 2008 6:42 AM

    So your favorite time of the year is college football season when Texas is #1?Aww Brook that great! 🙂

  2. Kara-Kae permalink
    October 21, 2008 9:58 AM

    punk. you had me reading MUCH longer than i wanted! don’t talk about christmas music and get me all excited just to disappoint!!

  3. Jason Waymire permalink
    October 21, 2008 10:27 AM

    You did very well this week…I wholeheartedly agree with your analysis of USC, Georgia, and Ohio State. Good stuff.

  4. cayce permalink
    October 22, 2008 11:31 PM

    Why did you change your blog? is this site better?

Leave a Reply

