Skip to content

The Cotton Bowl

October 13, 2008

Ok, so I just did some research.  The city of Dallas spent $57 million on renovating the Cotton Bowl.  While I am not excited about the final score of the OU Texas game, but I can honestly say that my opinion would not have changed in the least if the score had been different.  I have been to multiple games in the Cotton Bowl in the last several years and I believe that I can say that this one was the worst!  And that’s saying a lot considering the last time I was there the women’s bathrooms were out of order for half of the stadium!

This year was just terrible.  While there was so much money spent renovations, we apparently forgot that the Bowl looks rundown.  And it still does.  You know how awesome those huge big screens are in stadiums?  Well, I’m told there was one in the stadium but you sure couldn’t see a bit of it from where we were.  But that’s ok!  Not everyone can see the screen all the time.  I know that.  But, the smaller screens that were placed around the stadium are impossible to see during the day because of the glare.  And to top it all off, you know when those crazy refs make terrible calls and it just ticks everyone off?  Apparently there were several really bad calls in the Red River Rivalry.  Well, if you were in the lower deck, you never had a clue what any of the calls were.  The wonderful renovations have made it so it is impossible to hear what the announcer says.  That was good times too.  I had to do research when I got home just to see what actually happened in the game!

Now, I say all this because the stadium itself sucks.  Don’t get me wrong.  The game was great!  I’m glad I got to go!  We had a blast and I even saw my wife cheer for OU at one point!  That’s a big step in the right direction!  I’m just not sure what Dallas was thinking when they approved these renovations.  I think its time to move the game to a new stadium.  (And I wouldn’t be opposed to a place with fewer seats so we can make some more money from the tickets we can use…but that’s just me being selfish)

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 13, 2008 6:15 PM

    Kara-Kae texted me during the game, and said that she actually was clapping (I figured she meant for OU). You do know if you ever end up in CA you will have to become a USC fan.

Leave a Reply

