Skip to content

Online At The Bank

September 26, 2008

One of the best stand ups that I have ever seen in my life is by Kevin James called Sweat The Small Stuff.  It is amazing.  Well, at least it is to me because it is basically everything that goes through my head too.  You should definitely watch it!  Anyway, one of the things that seems to bother him the most is standing online at the bank.  I think I understand the feeling.  Waiting can be one of the most difficult seasons to be in.  In the world that we live in, waiting is something that we minimize as much as possible.  Drive-thru, HOV lane, interstates, rush shipping, etc.  Why are we so opposed to waiting for things?  Scripture says in Isaiah 29:11-12,

“I know what I’m doing. I have planned it all out-plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future that you hope for. When you call on me, when you come and pray to me, I’ll listen.”

For those of us that have grown up in church, we have heard this verse all our lives.  I believe in this and pray this all the time.  Why doesn’t that make it easier?  I know that He will take care of us.  I know that he has everything planned out for the bet thing for me!  So why is it that even though we know this and pray this and speak it over our lives, we continue to question it?  The best case scenario is already planned out for us.  We just have to let Him lead us to it.  And it seems that many times, waiting is how we get there.

It doesn’t matter what the situation is.  It could be a job or house or relationship or family member, but ultimately God is in control.  I want to rest in that.  I want to stop trying to do things on my own and give Him control knowing that He already has the best planned for me!

Also check out:
Letting Go

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kara-Kae permalink
    September 26, 2008 4:12 PM

    I love you so much! And our cousin Kevin is stinking hilarious!! 🙂

  2. triplatte permalink
    September 27, 2008 10:51 PM

    Here here! I’ll toast to that!

    And yes…best stand up ever.

    ever.

    period. with a dot at the end.

  3. D. James permalink
    September 29, 2008 1:03 PM

    I think sometimes when I have thought I was waiting for what (I thought) was His best, I missed what He really had in mind….ie missed opportunities for doing His will when I was focused on my own.

Leave a Reply

