Skip to content

The Best Blog Post Ever!

September 25, 2008

So what is it that makes a blog post great?  When looking back over the stats from my blog, I can see which posts were clicked on the most.  I am very intrigued by this.  Is there a pattern?  Do those that read my blog prefer a certain type of post from me?  Well, here are the top posts so far.  

Week 3 (I Know! Already)

It Is Finally Here!

The Empty Space In My Head

Boring!

Top 10 Of Week 2

Of the top 5 posts (not counting the other pages because they apparently get more clicks than posts), 3 of them are directly about football.  One is about very nearly about football and the last one is about all the thoughts running through my head.  Week 3 (I Know! Already) got the most by far.  The other 4 are only separated by 1 click each.

So does that mean that my audience wants to hear about football?  Does that mean that the football posts were longer and had to be clicked on?  I don’t know.  So I ask you.  What makes a blog something of interest to you?  Is it the content?  Is it the author?  Is it catchy titles?  You tell me!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jason Waymire permalink
    September 25, 2008 8:58 AM

    Definitely the good looks of the author…

  2. D. James permalink
    September 25, 2008 1:56 PM

    Being your dad probably doesn’t count but 1st is because it’s you. Just to know I don’t count you more than your sister,I have clicked(not hit, mind you)on her’s about as often even tho she has not posted since the first one…. #2-content…but my choice was the empty space….

  3. Jason Waymire permalink
    September 25, 2008 2:45 PM

    Ok just kidding…I’m a content guy. i read blogs of people I don’t even know (yes I’m a stalking lurker…) but only if their content is relevant to my situation. Titles don’t do much because I read the same blogs no matter the title…

  4. September 25, 2008 10:14 PM

    Well as far as football goes, your um, well differ in opinon and that can really get me interested. So yeah i’d say an opposite opinion of mine is pretty good! And of course football, I’ve been so deprived the last 7 months

Leave a Reply

