Skip to content

Week 4

September 23, 2008

So another week of football has gone by.  I wasn’t as excited about this past weekend because my boys had a bye, but there was still some good football.  Before I get to the Top 10 this week, I have a couple questions for you.

1. Will the West Virginia coach (that was their savior at the end of last season) still have a job by the end of the season?  While we’re at it, will he make it through the whole season?

2. Is there really a defense in the Big 12 that can stop a good passing attack?  (Don’t get me wrong, I love my Sooners, but they have been rather suspect in the secondary for the last several years.)

3. Is East Carolina done?

4. If OU and Georgia run the board, will USC get left out of the title game with a weak strength of schedule?

Ok.  Now on to the Top 10.

AP Top 10
1. USC
2. Oklahoma
3. Georgia
4. Florida
5. LSU
6. Missouri
7. Texas
8. Alabama
9. Wisconsin
10. Texas Tech

USA Today Top 10
1. USC
2. Oklahoma
3. Georgia
4. Florida
5. Missouri
6. LSU
7. Texas
8. Wisconsin
9. Texas Tech
10. Alabama

Ok, so I am ready to give Georgia some props.  They finally looked like a team that was worthy of a decent ranking last weekend.  But don’t get me wrong.  I only said some.  It was Arizona State for cryin’ out loud.  I guess this weekend we will really see how good they are.

Brook’s Top 10
1. USC
2. Oklahoma
3. Florida
4. LSU
5. Missouri
6. Georgia
7. Alabama
8. Wisconsin
9. BYU
10. Texas

Yes I know that the bottom side of this changed dramatically, but I don’t care.  Texas still hasn’t played a college team (and I hate UT).  So there you have it.  Deal with it.  Bring on the thoughts!

 

Week 3

Week 2

Week 1

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2008 10:43 PM

    1. Yes West Virigina will have a job. West Virigina isn’t going to pull a “Rich Rodriguse Reversal” on themselves. He just got a 6 year extension, I believe 2 weeks ago. They got a good coach at a cheap price, I believe in the 750K a year range.

    2. Yes, Texas shut down the Rice passing attack! Seriously Wow, ha. I’m funny. For real no, but hey that’s what the Big 12 is about this year the QB and high flying passing attack. I am suprised by Colorado and interested to see what they will do this year, I think nebraska slides out of that Big 12 North spot.

    3. ECU is done, no BCS crashing for them, they’ll finish in the top 25 and get a “decent” bowl game (New years Eve, or Day, Cotton, Gator, Holiday ect..) Look out for Boise State (Be scared OU fans very scared, Ian Johnson shall haunt your dreams), undefeated and upset No. 17 Oregon.

    4. Negative, Georgia will be left out, lack luster non-confrence schedual and less than impressive wins. USC beat OSU (who sucks) but the BCS seems to love them and think they are all that and a bag of chips. Oh yeah I said it 1995 style. And while the pac-10 might be down this year (1-4 vs MAC confrence, yikes) but they still don’t get left out.

    Your poll: Eh top 6 are good no arguments. I’ll take BYU, okay, Alabama while good maybe high, but okay. But Texas seriously? Ouch, I’m not sure that Tennesse Chattenoga, Cinnicnaitti, Washington count as “College teams” either. At least UT hasn’t played a Div. I-AA school. But w/e I’ll just pray for a TCU repeat upset! Go Frogs!

  2. September 26, 2008 5:36 AM

    You better get busy fixing your top spot. Maybe your Sooner boys will move in there. They better take TCU seriously. I am sure they will.

  3. I'm Brook James permalink*
    September 26, 2008 11:34 AM

    I have a feeling they will. The last time they played TCU was at home a few years ago. They are the only team other than OSU to beat OU at home. I have a feeling they will be out for blood. I think it will be a big score.

  4. September 27, 2008 8:41 PM

    Thanks alot USC, you made my last post look real stupid! Of course with Georgia and Flordia going down too you might not slide that far! Stupid stupid can’t believe OU and LSU will be #1 & #2! Oh and Alabama and idiotic Nick Saban will leap frog the crowd 5 spots to number #3.

Leave a Reply

