Skip to content

The Madden Curse

September 12, 2008

So we have all heard of the John Madden curse, right?  You know, whoever makes it on the cover of the Madden football game will get injured or quit or lose bad or something that year.  It just happens.  Like clockwork.  I could list it all out for you, but that would take quite a while.  So if you don’t believe me, go look it up!  

But here’s the point.  Every year for the last 5 – 10 years I have played fantasy football (if you don’t know what that means, you should find out… it’s good times!).  There is something about me that is like Madden… and trust me, I don’t wanna compare myself to him because he drives me insane!  I apparently have a similar curse but it works with my fantasy football teams.  Almost every year in the league that I play in with my college buddies (and a grandparent or two… no really… and she has kicked our butts too) I always end up drafting an awesome QB and then almost always they get hurt.  I have had Michael Vick.  He broke his leg that year… oh and he is in jail.  I have had Donovan McNabb.  I think he broke everything that year.  I have had Chad Pennington (although he may not fall under the awesome QB category) and he got hurt that year.  The list goes on and on.  

Point is, last year Tom Brady had the best year ever.  So of course I should want him as my QB this year.  Well, if you actually made it this far through this post you already know that he made it 15 minutes into this season and torn his ACL and MCL.  He got me 3 points.  Good times.  I mean seriously?  How does that continue to happen?  I don’t get it.  I think I am just destined to always lose in that league.  Maybe for the players sakes I should stop playing fantasy football with the college boys.  My bad Brady.  I guess next year I’m just gonna have to draft like 5 QBs.  

Wish me luck salvaging my fantasy season now.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kara-Kae permalink
    September 12, 2008 9:25 AM

    I didn’t actually read this but I’m sure it was very intriguing and deep. Just wanted to say hi 🙂

  2. D. James permalink
    September 12, 2008 12:12 PM

    I see KK puts the importance on fantasy football as I do…can’t say I feel bad for you. But for the QB’s sake maybe you should take the season off.

  3. September 12, 2008 9:32 PM

    Ha!

  4. Jason Waymire permalink
    September 13, 2008 4:16 PM

    Sorry to overcomment, but isn’t it awesome when Maryland beats Cal…you know, Maryland who lost (14-24)to Middle Tennessee last week. I mean of course Cal deserved to be ranked after beating such powerhouses as Washington State and Michigan State…what were the voters thinking?

Leave a Reply

