Skip to content

One Way?

September 4, 2008

Now before you freak out, I’m not actually asking if there is more than one way to heaven.  But yes, I would like your semi to fully spiritual thoughts and answers.  Just wait for the question! 

So recently, I was given the privilege of being introduced to a new televised church show.  Those are always good times.  While I didn’t really understand what was going on, it left me thinking, how many people don’t understand what we do?  You know.  You’re church isn’t the same as mine.  And contrary to popular belief, THAT’S OK!  I know.  Crazy.

So here it is.  The question for the day.  What things have you seen that are different than other churches that were cool, fun, engaging, worth a shot?  For those of you that maybe go to the same church, what are some things that are different that you enjoy?  What might be worth trying?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jason Waymire permalink
    September 5, 2008 9:02 PM

    Dude, your blog will always be cooler…you discuss college football and ear infections. Besides…you go to lifechurch…that makes a big difference in what you talk about…

  2. Dad permalink
    September 5, 2008 9:37 PM

    Call me strange but lately I have had better concentration in worship when watching a worship time on closed circuit TV than in the “experience room” where it is live. A nice comfy chair and a cup of coffee is good with not a lot of people milling about. Also it helps if I am familar with the music, and not seeing a worship team,choir or band(although the music they make does help) but just a leader.
    It’s just my frailty but I struggle with keeping focused watching all the other activity whether it is on stage or in the crowd. That is true whether I am at HHBC or LifeChurch. I start wondering who is there, how my voice sounds to the people nearby,if I brushed my teeth that morning and why the man in front of me is not singing, none of which helps me hear God. I don’t think the lights, smoke or holy jeans are wrong or bad but I have a personal struggle not getting distracted. I admit some of that is my age. And don’t get me wrong…I am extreemly proud of you and what you do.

  3. Kara-Kae permalink
    September 6, 2008 12:06 AM

    you should add tambourines. i think it would add a TON.

  4. September 7, 2008 12:12 AM

    I’m with KK tambourines and BIG Flags! Also I hear these real crazy people dance with snakes! Pretty Sweet. But for real though, i’m with your dad on the distraction thing. One thing I really miss, is a “leader” by himself with one instrument (piano, guitar) with a real peacful song almost singing over the crowd. That peace and calmness always helped me find that still quiet voice in worship. You know what I mean?

Leave a Reply

