Skip to content

Texas Drivers

August 26, 2008

Ok, so I know we all have at least a little bit of road rage in us deep down (or right there on the surface for many of us) but there is not much that drives me crazier on the road than Texas drivers.  Now, I speed.  Not generally too bad, but I still do.  I can admit that.  In Texas, apparently, I drive slow.  I must have missed out on the contest entry with the winner being the first person to get anywhere they are going.  I’m not talking about 5 to 10 over.  I talking people flying by me when I’m going 5 to 10 over!  It’s ridiculous.  But, it doesn’t stop there.  

I have been to places where the turn signal meant “hello there, I need to switch lanes, would you mind letting me” and generally getting the response of “of course not, please join our side of the road and let me thank you” and is always followed with a wave from both vehicles (You Okies know what I’m talking about).  Not so in Texas.  Not even close.  If you have ever driven in Dallas rush hour traffic, you know its true.  The turn signal doesn’t mean anything close to that.  It means more of “watch the crap out because I am coming into your lane like it or not”.  That’s if you are the turnee.  If you are already in the lane and you are receiving the turn signal it means more of a “oh heck no you don’t!  This is my lane and don’t even think about coming over here because I am now in more of a hurry than I was 3 seconds ago and so I speed up”.

So my advice to you?  Stay off the roads in Texas.  Hire a driver.  Get someone that is experienced and knows the “Texas etiquette”, because the word etiquette only represents a word they don’t use here!  Oh, and don’t forget to not use your turn signal.  You WILL lose your place.  Always remember the Nike slogan when driving in Texas.

JUST DO IT!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Middle Man permalink
    August 20, 2008 11:30 AM

    Now I know that most Texans do not realise there is a rest of the world out there but let me assure you that bad driving and road rage are not just an American phenomenon:

    http://caughtinthemiddleman.wordpress.com/2008/03/04/close-call/

    Be careful out there!

  2. David permalink
    August 26, 2008 2:29 PM

    If you ain’t first, your last! What’s a turn signal? Heck no you don’t signal someone in traffic, if you do that your not going anywhere! If you want a spot in a lane, you don’t signal or ask for you it! You simply take it! It’s really not that hard. pssh a thank you wave, are you kidding me?

  3. August 26, 2008 3:46 PM

    All I have to say is that although it may seem miserable to have to live amidst over-aggressive drivers and people who drive too fast…the opposite is equally frustrating…next time you get upset…just think of …Arkansas.

  4. August 26, 2008 6:09 PM

    wow…someone really screwed you over on the road today!

Leave a Reply

