Skip to content

What?

August 13, 2008

So, I apparently have an ear

infection in my right ear.  
Good times.  The pain is 
bearable, but the most 
difficult part about it is not 
being able to hear out of it.  
I woke up this morning 
around 7 and noticed that 
my ear was in need of 
popping and it hasn’t all 
day.  All my life I have 
wondered (but never wanted 
to experience) what it is like 
for my parents who are deaf 
in one ear.  No, they aren’t 
collectively deaf in one ear.  
They are collectively a full 
head of good ears.  Don’t ask 
me how they ended up 
together (because I’m pretty 
sure there weren’t chat 
rooms for the deaf in one ear 
back then), but my dad is deaf 
in his right ear and my mom 
in her left.  Pretty cool.  Not 
the best for chivalry (he still 
does well in that), though.  
When dad drives and mom is 
shotgun, they can’t really hear 
each other.
Anyway, back to the point…
well I ‘m not really sure that 
there really is a point.  But, 
I can’t hear out of my right 
ear.  I have a whole new 
perspective on things.  I can’t 
for the life of me tell where 
anything is coming from.  I 
have to ask people to repeat 
themselves a lot.  I have a 
much better appreciation for 
the crap that my parents have 
dealt with all their lives.  
Crazy.  I like hearing.  It’s 
good.  Too much work having 
to make sure that my good 
ear is facing whoever I wanna 
hear.
So that’s all I got for you today.  
Not really sure how Switch is 
gonna go over tonight.  Could 
be interesting.  I guess I tell 
you all that to make sure that 
you understand in case you 
say something to me and I 
completely ignore you…(ooo, 
maybe I can ignore people on 
purpose now and blame it on 
that!)
PS – If you haven’t figured it 
out yet, I can’t only hear on 
the left side right now.  There
is no right side.  I’m ready 
for the right side to come 
back home!
2 Comments leave one →
  1. kkjames permalink
    August 13, 2008 10:07 PM

    HA! I love you and your bad ear!

  2. Anonymous permalink
    August 15, 2008 4:44 PM

    ouch, I wish yours was healed, frankly, I wish mine was healed too!love you dearly, partially deaf one!

Leave a Reply

