Skip to content

Bless Your Heart

August 11, 2008

As I am sitting here working and for the last several months, I realized and continue to realize how extremely blessed I am.  I have the job that I want for the church that I want.  I have an incredible wife.  We have a house, two cars, a dog, A/C, etc.  I have been blessed way beyond what I deserve.  If we took the time, we could all stop and count the ways that we are truly blessed everyday.  But occasionally something helps us gain that perspective all over again.

A couple things this past week have done that for me.  The two main things that have helped me realize how overly blessed I am are my family and and my wife.  (Yes I know that my wife is family…I just wanted to brag on her separately.)  We just got back from vacation with my side of the family and a little time with her side as well, and I realize more and more how blessed I am to have them all.  They support us in everything we do.  They love us no matter what we do.  They just love to spend time with us…even if that is just hanging out and not doing anything.  I don’t think I deserve that.
My wife is the other way that I am blessed far beyond anything that I deserve.  I am seeing that more and more and even more today.  She is without a job at the moment.  I finally convinced her to quit her job and pursue her dreams.  But basically, she has spent the last year trying to find something that really excites her and makes her want to go to work.  But not only am I blessed by having the job that I want and not having to continue searching, I have a wife that gave up a job that she loved.  It’s not like she gave it up to pursue a different career, per say.  It’s the fact that she gave up that job specifically for me.  She has gone through a hard year of struggles…for me.  I could never ask that of her.  I could never repay her for that.  She is the biggest way that I have been blessed.
What about you?  In what ways are you blessed beyond what you deserve?
4 Comments leave one →
  1. How You Live permalink
    August 11, 2008 4:44 PM

    We are all blessed to have you in our lives too.

  2. David permalink
    August 11, 2008 9:27 PM

    I have a wife that loves me no matter what, and a healthy baby on the way. A family that loves us deeply and a Savior who forgives always.

  3. kkjames permalink
    August 11, 2008 10:57 PM

    you’re pretty wonderful. i looove you so much and am so blessed by YOU!

  4. Steve - ShapingWorship.com permalink
    August 12, 2008 2:39 PM

    Hi Brook. I found you on blogger under “Worship Pastor.” My name is Steve. I thought you might be interested in this free worship resource I made… http://www.ShapingWorship.com

Leave a Reply

