Skip to content

Free At Last!

August 8, 2008

Ladies and gentlemen, would you please turn in your hymnals to page 333.  Sister Mildred, we’re gonna play, free at last, free at last, thaaaaaank God Almighty!

Ok.  Sorry.  Went off on a little dc Talk tangent there.  Hmmm…  I’m back!  Well, unfortunately we have arrived back to normal civilization (I’m sure that the girls that wanna use makeup and plumbing and electricity are fine with that…ok so it wasn’t that bad but it was a just a liiiittle stuck in the 60’s).  And yes, for those of you that don’t know me at all, I am already missing the lake.  From the cabin we had for the week you could stand outside and look down the road and see the lake!  I miss that!
This was a HUGE week.  And when I say HUGE, I mean like Will Ferrell trying to sit on an elfin toilet huge.  This week my wife and I got to come on vacation with my family.  We don’t usually do much (except for anything possible on the lake and pretty much every card game you can think of…but no unfortunately, we didn’t play any poker) and just hang out with all of our family.  That is not a very quiet happening so we have to go different places away from the people and lives that we know to really do it well.  So this week we visited the lake, stayed in a cabin, and played any game we could think of.  But the main this of this week that made it huge was that we not only spent time with some of our favorite people (emphasis on SOME…we don’t wanna leave any of you other favorite people out), but we also are now FREE!  Free at last!  Thank God Almighty, we are free at last!  
This week my wife and I faced a few of our fears.  
(what we fear) (what dentists fear)
Now granted, my fear was a little easier to overcome and pretty much was just something I needed practice on, but my wife’s fear overcoming (yes, I’m sure I made that word up) was HUGE.  My fear (just to get it out of the way) was that of backing up a trailer.  I have known how to do it for a long time, but somehow, every time I have ever done it I have completely jacked it up and we are worse off than before I started.
That sucks and is no fun!  
Just for the record I back a trailer into the water multiple times and even once with a drunk guy standing behind it, telling me the wrong things and trying to lift and pull it (smart man…hope his kids that were swimming on the boat ramp as I was backing up don’t catch all his genes…but I’m a little worried).
But my wife.  Now she is amazing!  In my last post I told you about my wife’s limno-hydrophobia which is better known as the fear of lake water.  She has always (at least as long as I’ve known here) had fear of the lake water because it is dirty, very unclear, and has fish in it.  Not her cup of tea…or coffee…or diet coke.  But!  This week, she decided she wanted to be brave and face that fear and give the wakeboard a try!  What? I said.  Who are you?  Nope.  It was still her.  I’m still a little shocked.  So I gave her my best out of water wakeboard lesson and the next day we tried it out.  It took her a few tries but she definitely got up!  The first time she stood up but was then down several times.  The second time she stood up and started to go but fell.  The third time she rode it about 50 yards!  The fourth time, she road it several times about 100 yards!  She is amazing!  She even told me on the way home that she really had fun and she now understands why I love to do it and also why I am so exhausted after riding too!
So, there you have it.  We have had a great vacation.  Thanks for letting me take a blogging break while I was gone.  Hope you come back again.  There will definitely be more to come, but I just wanted to start it off by showing off my wife and letting her know how proud I am of her!  Wow she’s a stud!…ette…or whatever.  I leave you with this.

Dang that’s hot.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. David permalink
    August 11, 2008 2:18 PM

    Holy Freaking, Sweet Crap! Go KK! Wow, how amazing is that, your number 1 favorite thing to do, meets your number 2 favorite thing to do! 😉

  2. How You Live permalink
    August 11, 2008 4:42 PM

    All I can say is “Like Mother, Like Daughter!”

Leave a Reply

