Skip to content

The Way Vacation Should Be!

August 3, 2008

To steal a line from my mother, “and we’re off like a herd of turtles!”  (I’m really not sure what that means.  I guess we are leaving very slow?  Is that it?  Hmm…I’m not sure)  Well, maybe not quite, it is actually still in the middle of church right now, but as soon as we get through one more experience my wife and I are headed out for vacation with my family!  I’m not going to say the best part is that we are headed to the lake for a week because that would mean that my family isn’t the best part, but I really like the lake part!  

Anyway, we have always vacationed every year with my family and three other families that are our “family”.  I’m told that this isn’t normal.  I guess that makes sense, but I like the fact that it is so ingrained in my head that families do this that when I find out people don’t vacation together I’m shocked.  We have always vacationed together and, yes, we do play all those family games that the TV shows make fun of.  We have had summer olympics.  We still have a Spades tournament every year…and, yes, we do have a trophy.  No, it isn’t the Geller Cup, but I’m pretty sure Ross and Monica would fight over this one.
So, yeah.  That’s where I’m headed.  Lake Tenkiller, OK.  It’s gonna be fun.  Normally my goal would be to get someone to cliff jump with me, but I think my goal is gonna be to get my wife in the water.  She has limnophobia which is the fear of lakes.  Sometimes I think it is actually hydrophobia, but anyway, I’m gonna try to get her over her limno-hydrophobia.  Good luck!  Well, we are headed out today.  I have no idea if I will have any kind of internet out there, so, for those 2 of you that actually read this often, well, occasionally, I will be back on in a few days!  Don’t give up.  Wait for me!  It will be good!  
Here.  Food for thought and comments.
Does your family go on vacation?
What kind of vacations do you take?
Is it just me or do you need a vacation from vacation?  (I don’t remember the last time I took vacation and didn’t wear myself out by the time I got home…and you know it’s gonna happen because we are going to the lake and all I’m gonna do is wakeboard!)
Peace!
PS – For those of you that thought about stealing stuff from my house while I’m on vacation, please know that I am not actually going on vacation.  I will be home the whole time.  Your efforts would be futile!
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cassie&David permalink
    August 3, 2008 8:25 PM

    Going on vacation with other families that you consider family is weird? I’ve been doing that for the last oh 10 years at least!

  2. Cassie&David permalink
    August 3, 2008 11:49 PM

    More people read than you think, enjoy the lake and catch a little air for me!
    -David

Leave a Reply

