Skip to content

Knowing When To Say When

July 30, 2008

As you may already know, I am a worship pastor.  One of my favorite things about working for LifeChurch.tv as a worship pastor is that I have the freedom to play what I want.  Of course, what songs go over well, songs that are rather new, songs that are singable, etc. goes into it as well, but I still get to choose.  That is great.  But one of the things that I think every church and worship pastor deals with is the question of how to get people to engage in the music we are doing.  Several of the things that I think help are songs that are singable, understandable, catchy, powerful, familiar as well as a band that believes what they are playing and singing.  Obviously as a worship pastor, this is something that we always strive for.  What are your thoughts?  

What engages you into worship?
What songs really help you worship?
How long does it take you to learn a new song?
How long does it take before you are tired of hearing a given song on a weekend?
3 Comments leave one →
  1. C&E permalink
    July 30, 2008 11:20 PM

    that little puppy thing you have on the top right reminds of “Dissing your Dog.” “No, no, Henry, don’t get up, besides, you did put in a LONG, HARD day sitting around in a pool of your own slobber!”
    Cayce

  2. Dan S. permalink
    July 31, 2008 10:11 AM

    All the new songs that I’ve heard you play from Hillsong, David Crowder, or Chris Tomlin, have all been a really great source of my worship. And also the pumped up hymms have also been great. This may sound really bad but I’ll be at the 8:30am service to join in worship before I head back to my church. After I hear a song for the first time, by the next time we sing it I’ve got it down. Being tired of a song for me depends on how much i like the song. Honestly Brook, I think you are doing an awesome job and one day I hope to be as versatile as you are in music!

  3. Dianna S permalink
    July 31, 2008 1:16 PM

    Worship is praising and adoring my Lord and Savior. I prefer the songs that “talk to him”. I enjoy the lively music, but because music has been a big part of my life I can enjoy worshiping with most types.

    I enjoy worshiping with you when we go through Nashville, but I enjoy the other leaders too.

    Keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

