Skip to content

Massive Killer!

July 29, 2008


My wife and I enjoy the company of a massive dog named Jack Bauer James.  This dog is ruthless.  He has a spiked collar and is also soft and cuddly and weighs 8 lbs.  Huge.  (I bet you can’t guess which picture is Jack.)  I mean seriously.  He is a Maltese.  Not the fiercest dog in the world.  So he barks.  Other than that he is just a sweet little dog that chew on himself,  likes to have his belly scratched, and sleeps next to us.  That’s about it.  He doesn’t do a whole lot more.  

Now.  What I don’t understand is how there are soooo many people that are terrified of little bitty dogs.  My neighbor is absolutely horrified by Jack.  I have seen her run to her car afraid that he might “get her”.  She backed up scared yesterday when she saw me thinking Jack might be loose.  But its not just her.  We went to Chicken Express the other day and the person that came out to the car backed away from the car because Jack was standing in my lap looking out my window.  Again, with a horrified look, the person would NOT get any closer to the car.
These are just 2 examples from the last couple days.  I just don’t really understand.  Are there that many people that have “had a bad experience” with dogs?  I mean come on.  We’ve even had kids under the age of 5 that were terrified of dogs that now like dogs all because of Jack.  I mean, I had a dog that wanted me dead when I was like 4 (yes I know this pokes holes in my previous post, but still). My dad’s dog wanted to eat me and yet I haven’t met a dog since then that I can recall that I was truly scared of.  I can understand being scared of a dog that is trying to kill you or whatever, but that dog is gonna have to be at least 10 lbs. before it really has the horror affect that I have seen Jack “cause”.  Is it normal that people are just plain scared of dogs?  Just doesn’t make sense to me.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. dmjames permalink
    July 30, 2008 9:05 AM

    Actually you were about 18 months old and the dog, “Bum”, sensed you were in compitition for his food so he nipped at you so you would back off…. you did. However he did not survive the aftermath…..

  2. kkjames permalink
    July 30, 2008 9:24 AM

    Jack is the first one with the big teeth right?

  3. How You Live permalink
    July 31, 2008 6:56 AM

    Which one is coming to stay with me next week? Pete will be afraid of which ever one it is!

  4. Reag permalink
    July 31, 2008 2:15 PM

    So I used to be TERRIFIED of little dogs when I was little. Big dogs had no affect on me. I thought they were awesome and adorable. (thanks to Tanner) but the Hargroves had a maltese-type dog and I was absolutely horrified of it. It never so much as nibbled on me. It just sniffed and licked me but it was as good as satan in my eyes. I don’t know what it was. I think it was just cause I was used to Tanner and had been raised with a big dog but tiny dogs were the scariest things ever to me. Thankfully I got over that stage.

Leave a Reply

