Skip to content

41.6% Of A Year

July 29, 2008

Well, I am little disappointed in myself today.  My wife beat me to the blogging.  Normally that’s no big deal, but when we are both blogging about the same thing, its a race.  Well, I was asleep and she was blogging.  I guess that hurts my argument for my last post.  Anyway, today is the anniversary if you will of 5 months of marriage (is it really an anniversary?).  Now I think I may just steal from her idea and give you a list of some of the things that I have learned from the first 5 months of marriage.  PS – If you don’t know my wife, her blog is http://kkjames.wordpress.com/ so go check it out!

– Absolutely communication is huge.  If you can’t communicate you are screwed!
– Girls apparently have to make the bed every day (if not multiple times a day) just in case someone were to walk in and give our house the white glove inspection.  I don’t know when this crazy person who is gonna look down on us for not making the bed is coming over, but dear lord lock the door!
– You MUST put the other person first.  I try to do this all the time, but I am human.  She has seemed to figure out how to do it all the time.
– It is difficult to write a blog with a dog on your lap trying to bite your fingers as you type.
– Always, always, always let her know how amazing she is, that you always have her back and how proud you are of her.
– Girls are just as worried about taking care of the family as guys are and stress out about not having a job just as much as we would.
– Dealing with death sucks, but is better with your spouse somehow.
– Being a “guy” tests their patience.
– While the benefits of birth control are great, if it doesn’t agree with her, STOP IMMEDIATELY!
– Just because she offers to drive doesn’t mean she wants to.  She would do it for you, but she really likes that you drive (unless you are a crappy driver and scare her to death).
– Sleeping next to the love of your life is AWESOME…even when she rolls all over the bed and your “half” is about as wide as you are…and she punches in her sleep.
– ALWAYS push her toward her dreams…unless her dreams are something ridiculous like I wanna be the first black president as a white girl…then you might rethink this one.
– If the counter has crap on it, the house is a mess.  Yeah.  I know.  I don’t get it either.
– Let her watch her CSI because she thinks Nick Stokes is hot, don’t tell her that’s why you watch Mr. & Mrs. Smith or Underworld.
– If the bed isn’t made, she WILL make it…even if you are about to get into bed.
– She is more than happy to let you play poker when you bring more home than you left with.
– She wants you to spend time with the boys, but she likes it a TON when you skip that occasionally to hang out with her.
– Make her feel safe.  Watch scary movies so you can maximize this!  Good stuff.
I’m sure I could go on for quite a while, but you get the picture!  Thanks to all our family for your prayers and support throughout this first 41.6% of our first year of marriage!
6 Comments leave one →
  1. kkjames permalink
    July 29, 2008 12:12 PM

    1) thats an awful, yet funny picture.

    2) i love you a whole lot! thanks for putting up with me 🙂

    3) You know you think Nick is hot too!

  2. Yonas permalink
    July 29, 2008 12:47 PM

    Haha, that was great Brook, an inside look on what i can expect when i walk down the aisle someday, the sprinkle of humor was nice too, lol

  3. Anonymous permalink
    July 29, 2008 3:23 PM

    ah, that was sweet, I think you are a good husband, at least no really BIG gaffes yet! love you both! me

  4. I'm Brook James permalink
    July 29, 2008 3:53 PM

    Well thanks Anonymous person named Me. I try!

  5. I'm Brook James permalink
    July 29, 2008 3:53 PM

    Well thanks Anonymous person named Me. I try!

  6. Anonymous permalink
    July 30, 2008 10:42 PM

    I love this post. It’s always good to be reminded of the important things like communication and putting the other first. I think if we aren’t reminded we forget without meaning to.
    cayce

Leave a Reply

